October 2, 2019 - kens5.com -

On Tuesday, Bexar County Commissioners (San Antonio) took their first step to increase Amtrak's Sunset Limited Routes, out of the Sunset Station downtown.

Currently, Amtrak serves seven areas in Texas three times a week: El Paso, Alpine, Sanderson, Del Rio, San Antonio, Houston and Beaumont.

Three people with the Rail Passengers Association, an organization that represents rail passengers, presented their case to increase routes to county commissioners Tuesday.  "By having it daily, it would actually help connect various parts of the state,” a spokesperson with Rail Passengers Association said. “Many of those areas have no other service like airlines or bus services."

Read more and video: https://www.kens5.com/article/news/local/bexar-county-commissioners-vote-to-increase-amtrak-train-routes/273-9a9f3851-0bef-4cde-bf4e-6f9e20a5e371


TRA Newswire:

Here is the list of towns and cities that support daily rail service on the Sunset Limited route:

Jefferson County: County Judge: Jeff Branick

City of Orange: Larry Spears, Jr., - Mayor

Mayor of Port Arthur: Derrick Freeman - Mayor

Jasper County: County Judge - Mark Allen

City of Groves: - Brad P. Baily - Mayor

Mayor of Houston: Sylvester Turner – Mayor

City of Flatonia: Bryan Milson – Mayor

City of San Antonio – Ron Nirenberg – Mayor

Bexar County - County Judge Nelson Wolff

City of Del Rio: Bruno “Ralphy” Lozano -Mayor

Del Rio Chamber of Commerce: Mike Wrob – President

Val Verde County: County Judge: Lewis Owens

Terrell County (Sanderson): County Judge – Santiago Flores

City of Alpine: Andy Ramos - Mayor

City of El Paso: Dee Margo - Mayor

Tucson Mayor: Jonathan Rothschild – Mayor

Yuma Arizona Visitors Bureau: Linda Morgan - Executive Director

Yuma Metropolitan Planning Organization: J. Deal Begay, Jr., - Vice Chairman YMPO

Greater Yuma Economic Development Corp.: Julie Engel – President/CEO