January 30, 2023 - TRA Newswire -

Texas Congressman Nehls to head Railroad Subcommittee 

(Washington) - Leading the U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructures' Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials will be South Texas U.S. Representative Troy Nehls (R-22nd District). 

The announcement came last week from T&I Chairman Sam Graves (R-Missouri). In a statement, Nehls said “at such a pivotal time for our transportation industry, I am deeply honored to have the opportunity to lead the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials." Nehls said, “Our Subcommittee will be active in developing pipeline safety reauthorization legislation, as well as conducting oversight of issues such as the supply chain and Amtrak. I look forward to working with Chairman Graves to advance the interests of the American people.

Nehls also serves on the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit.

Nehls district encompases all or part of Brazonia, Fort Bend and Harris Counties along the Gulf Coast. He began his second term in Congress in January 2021.

In his new role with oversight of railroads, Congressman Nehls has been invited to speak at the 19th Annual Southwestern Rail Conference in Hurst this April. 

No surprise in choice for Texas Senate Transportation Committee Chairman

(Austin) - No surprise on who will Chair the Texas Senate Committee on Transportation. Lt.Governor Dan Patrick reappointed Robert Nichols to head up the committee. Royce West (D-Dallas) was named Vice-Chair. Additional members of Senate Transportation are Carol Alvarado (D-Houston), Sarah Eckhardt (D-Austin), Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), Phil King (R-Weatherford), Borris Miles (D-Houston), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) and Charles Perry (R-Lubbock).

Still waiting on Texas House Committee assignments for Transportation

(Austin) - Selecting committee positions for the 150-member Texas House takes significantly longer than doling out appointments for the 31 sitting Senators on the other side of the Capitol building.

No word as of today if Democrat Terry Canales (Edinburg) who chaired the Transportation Committee under Speaker Dade Phelan last term will be reappointed. Last session Vice-Chair was Republican Ed Thompson (Pearland). Canales was highly critical of the Rio Grande Valley Municipal Planning Organization last week over the agency holding $300 million in the bank and not moving ahead with "shovel ready" projects. In response, the MPO has set up a working group to report each quarter to their board on projects ready to be let.

Photo credit: Nehls, U.S. House